Centres

Archive

Femi Adelowo

I have been a maths teacher since 2012, and before that, as an engineer that worked for a Midlands water company on major projects.  Also, I have used my qualifications in finance /accounting to work in various high companies in the energy sector, pharmacy, retail and with the City Council finance and education sector.
In addition, I have a keen interest in sports and community activities and projects.

Evlynn Bakewell

Hi I’m Ev, I’m the 2nd Chance and Employability Tutor for Midlands ETS.

I struggled during my teen years to find where I fitted in the world, dropping out of both college and sixth form due to being poorly with my mental health. I’m quite creative so eventually I pursued my dream of working in make-up and went back to college as an adult and worked in industry for several years. I then went into a support role at a local college and ended up lecturing on the Media Make-up Degree, helping people with freelance work and employment opportunities, which was an amazing experience. I found a lot of people had the same problems I did when I was a teenager, and this was my motivation to help young people. Now I get to help and advise people who really need guidance just like I did at the time. I love working at Barnardos as it’s so flexible and really fits around each individual learner, which is something I am super passionate about!

Rebekah Nash

Hello, my name is Beks.  I always wanted to be a teacher but was told it would never happen!  So armed with grit and determination I wanted to prove them all wrong, so I took the wibbly wobbly path gaining life experiences first then eventually starting my teaching career aged 25 in the hair, beauty, and holistic therapies industry.  I have taught in schools and FE colleges and have settled finally at Barnardo’s.  I have been here for over 10 years.   I teach on the Study Programme – Business Support, Health and Social Care, and Children and Young People.  I am passionate about learning and unlocking the potential in everyone, to be the best they can. I am Bilingual – my other language is British Sign Language; I volunteer at a local Deaf club supporting young people and adults.

In my spare time I eat curry, teach photography, and try to fit friends and family in.  On a weekend, you will find me either next to a river with my camera (I love photographing wildlife and have won many awards for my photography), or on a field digging for treasure as I am a keen metal detectorist.